Toyota Motor Corporation was founded by Kiichiro Toyoda in 1937. Toyota Motor Corporation group companies are Toyota, Lexus, Daihatsu, Hino Motors and several "nonautomotive" companies. Toyota is headquartered in Toyota City, Aichi Prefecture, Chūbu region, Japan.

Toyota is publicly traded on the Tokyo, Osaka, Nagoya, Fukuoka, and Sapporo exchanges under company code TYO, on the New York Stock Exchange under NYSE: TM and on the London Stock Exchange under LSE: TYT.